• Meta

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 23 other subscribers
  • Donate to the IVF fund!

    Donate to the IVF fund!

  • Categories

  • Archives

Survey says….

It’s only early July, and we’ve had quite a bit of activity this summer! For those of you who like pictures, there are many.

In early June, we visited Kevin and Linda in their new town and new church. They live about 30 minutes from Calaveras Big Trees State Park, so we spent Saturday afternoon hiking in the South Grove, which I highly recommend over the North Grove if you really want to get into the forest. The weather was amazing, ranging from a sunny 70 degrees to overcast and raining. Along the trail, we found ourselves about 30 yards from a brown bear cub who was just foraging in the bushes. I didn’t have the camera out, so no pictures. The cub ran off, and after we waited quietly to make sure mama bear wasn’t coming to eat us (parents, tell your kids whatever you want about bears), we continued on the hike. Did I mention how big the trees are?

Jen tries to wrap her arms around the concept of how big these giant sequoias really are.

Jen tries to wrap her arms around the concept of how big these giant sequoias really are.

Recreating our wedding dance at Big Trees.

Recreating our wedding dance at Big Trees.

Kevin didn't get the memo...

Kevin didn't get the memo...

I’ve been playing in a co-ed softball league with some colleagues, and in our fifth game, I started out playing first base. Even though Jen will say otherwise, I did some stretching and warming up before the game. Apparently it wasn’t quite enough. As I did what any good first baseman would do and stretched to try to catch an errant throw while keeping one foot on the base, I heard a pop in my groin area and promptly fell down without catching the ball. I’ve had groin injuries before, but not this bad. The injury happened on a Thursday, and this bruise showed up on Sunday.

The bruise as it first appeared, 3 days after the injury.

The bruise as it first appeared, 3 days after the injury.

The week after that, we drove down to Santa Barbara for Jen’s sister Amy’s wedding. Amy is the youngest of the three sisters, so you can imagine Dad’s relief!

Whew...almost done with the third wedding!

Whew...almost done with the third wedding!

It’s much different when you’re just in the wedding and not the people getting married. You can actually goof off a little during rehearsal!

Gotcha!

Gotcha!

After the rehearsal, we headed to Amy’s then-boyfriend, now-husband Jim’s aunt’s house for a tasty meal of tri-tip. The baked beans were good too, and there was some other food, but I don’t really remember it.

Mmmmmm...tri-tip!

Mmmmmm...tri-tip!

After a week of hobbling around and a total of 13 hours driving to and from Santa Barbara, my bruise changed a little. I wonder if my low platelet count (99k at last visit about three weeks ago) has something to do with this?

The bruise after a week of interacting with gravity.

The bruise after a week of interacting with gravity.

We enjoyed a quiet 4th of July weekend at home. I took advantage of my holiday off work, and with the help of a few good friends (thanks to Sean V., Eric C., and Rob C.), finally got started on that shed I mentioned last summer by pouring concrete on Friday morning…and early afternoon. I’m pretty sure they made a mixing error and gave me too much concrete, because we had to scramble to build additional forms for places to put an extra 3/8 of a yard of concrete! Either that, or I just miscalculated how much I needed. Since we were pretty busy with that, I didn’t take any pictures of the process. More to come as actual construction begins!

On the actual holiday itself, Jen had to work. It was one of the two holidays that she signed up to work at the beginning of the year. We wanted a quiet (relatively!) evening at home, so we just had dinner alone and watched a movie, and briefly went around the corner to see the neighborhood fireworks.

Happy Independence Day!

Happy Independence Day!

Let’s see…what else? Oh yeah, Jen is about 21 weeks along now. We had an ultrasound today, and TJSJr. (XX) is developing just great. Our ultrasound technician happened to be the employee of the month this month, and we experienced no less than excellent service from her. I’ll add an image from the ultrasound tomorrow.

Jen at 21 weeks.

Jen at 21 weeks.

Tuesday morning edit: Ultrasound picture added.

Already sucking the thumb!

Already sucking the thumb!

18 Responses

  1. So sly, Todd. I like the crossed “T.” Wow, that is the biggest bruise I’ve ever seen. Did your whole thigh hurt? Jen you look great! Love the little pooch!

  2. Congratulations!! So excited for you guys…and good luck with that bruise. Wow.

  3. NICE. For a guy of few words you sure do lay it on. A very warm and loving congratulations to you both. Oh yeah I was a witness….they gave us too much concrete.

  4. jen looks beautiful!!!
    so exciting 🙂 i actually like the picture of the tri-tip!
    sweet lighting.
    i could have done without the bruise pics.
    congrats you two!!!
    what a lucky girl 😉
    -rose

  5. A girl then?!! Cute lil bump lady. So as I’m reading your latest post and scroll down a bit, I let out a terrible “Oh!” as I see Todd’s nasty bruised leg. Well, Bryan thought I was going into labor. Sheesh! A little more warning would be nice as to the graphic extent of your blog.

  6. Yay! Congratulations! Way to make us work for the info! That is one crazy bruise!
    Can’t wait to meet JSJr (XX), which is what I’m planning to call her once she’s here!

  7. My heart is doing a very excited happy dance!!!
    Love and prayers to all three!

  8. Oh Yay! I was lying in bed last night after not being on the computer all day (too busy) and suddenly thought, “It was the Smith’s ultrasound today! I need to check the blog!”. I had to force myself to stay in bed and wait until this morning. A sweet little girl! How fabulous! Oh… and nasty bruise Todd. Nasty.

  9. A thumb sucker… oh no! Can you send me the picture by email to update the frame on mantle! Love you baby XX
    Grammy

  10. Cute ultrasound pic. She’s got quite the bicep!

  11. YAYAYAYAY!!!! Before I got to the bottom I just knew…not sure how though:) But I’m so excited for you guys:) I can’t wait to see Jen’s belly!
    I agree, Todd that is a NASTY bruise!!!! Man oh Man!!!!
    We miss you guys!
    The Sheridan’s

  12. Thanks Todd for the email!

    Love all the pics!! Jen you look great!!

    Todd your pics look awesome!

    That is one crazy bruise!!

  13. thursday afternoon update:
    i LOVE that she sucks her thumb already.
    so precious.
    i’m bringing over all kindsa goodies tonight!!!
    hugs!

  14. Great pictures Todd!!!

    Can’t wait to see the rest of your portfolio you took at Ames’s wedding day. 4 thumbs up on that lovely progression of your bruise. Amazing what gravity does with blood pooling.

    Love the ultrasound picture- this new grandmother needs an enclosure to my email so that I can also frame the progression of growth.

    Love you both- Mom

  15. I wonder if she’ll play with her belly button too! (Like Kelley)

  16. Great photos that tell amazing bits of stories from your summer. We sure loved our bit! We’re missing you so much!

    Hopefully you are healed from that bruise by now, Todd!

  17. So sweet… can’t wait to meet her! Love, Mom

  18. Great Blog! I have added you to my blogroll, “Cancer Blog Links” with over 400 other cancer blogs at http://www.beingcancer.net, a cancer networking site featuring a cancer book club, guest blogs, cancer resources and more. Please stop by and visit. If you like the site, please consider adding Being Cancer to your blogroll.
    Take care, Dennis

Leave a comment